BOMA Standards & Guides

BOMA Measurement Standards

Since 1915, the BOMA Standard has been the only floor measurement method for commercial real estate approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). A must for building owners, managers, facilities managers, tenants, appraisers, architects, leasing professionals, lending institutions and others when calculating leases, allocating building expenses to cost centers, or comparing occupancy. The revised Standard includes how to measure new tenant amenities and building features such as spacious entrance lobbies, conference centers, health clubs, and day care facilities.

BOMA Standards are available for purchase via BOMA International's The BOMA Store, or by phone 1-800-426-6292.

BOMA Building Classification Guide

What does a Class A Building mean? What are the differences between Class A, B and C buildings? When looking for new office space, a tenant will quickly realize most buildings are classified in one of those three categories. The factors that determine a building’s class vary in each market, so a Class A office building in a major urban city will be much different than a Class A office building in a small rural town of 30,000 people. There are no definitive formulas used to classify a building, but a general definition for each class is provided in the guide.

BOMA Building Classification Guide (English)

BOMA Building Classification Guide (French)